“Working on our own consciousness is the most important thing that we are doing at any moment, and being love is a supreme creative act.”
Ram Dass (via uni-tea)
Permalink 1836 1 year ago
Permalink 7295 1 year ago
Permalink 485 1 year ago

Notes on the Fourth Chakra

The Sanskrit name for the 4th chakra is “Anahata.” This word means “unstruck” or “stillness.” This seems to imply that deep beneath our brokenness and pain, wholeness abides.

The 4th chakra is located in our heart center. It governs our intuition and love. It is also known as the heart chakra.

Glands/organs/parts of the body associated with the 4th chakra:

  • Thymus, heart, lungs, chest, arms, breasts

The primary color for the 4th chakra is green and the secondary color is pink.

The element for the 4th chakra is air. Pranayama practice helps to balance this chakra.

The sense for the 4th chakra is touch, feeling, clairsentient.

The emotion of the heart chakra is compassion and joy. The 4th chakra feels the suffering of others.

The foods for this chakra are air, vegetables (especially green ones), and love.

When the 4th chakra is deficient, you may experience feelings of shyness and loneliness, an inability to forgive or a lack of empathy. Physical conditions can include shallow breathing, asthma, and some lung diseases.

When the 4th chakra is excessive one may experience co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, heart problems and high blood pressure.

In yoga, poses that stimulate the 4th chakra are backward bends (anything that opens the chest). A powerful way to energize this chakra is to love ourselves and others.

Permalink 207 1 year ago
“Love opens the doors into everything, as far as I can see, including and perhaps most of all, the door into one’s own secret, and often terrible and frightening, real self.”
May Sarton
Permalink 167 1 year ago
Permalink 10864 1 year ago
Permalink 14479 1 year ago
Permalink 69 1 year ago
Permalink 4018 1 year ago
Permalink 2299 1 year ago
Theme by The Layout Shop
Back to Top